Work hard. Be kind
  • Dawley Brook
  • Primary School
  • Love to learn
  • Learn for life

Religious Education

Religious Education must be taught to all registered pupils in maintained schools.


Each Local Authority must convene and Agreed Syllabus Conference to produce a syllabus. Once adopted by the LA the programme of study of the agreed syllabus sets out what pupils should be taught. The attainment levels set out the expected standards of pupils’ performance at different ages. The Education Act 1996 states that an agreed syllabus must reflect the fact that the religious traditions in Great Britain are in the main Christian, while taking account of the teachings and practices of the other principal religions represented in Great Britain. The law does not define what the principal religions represented in Great Britain are but this agreed syllabus defines ‘the other principal religions represented in Great Britain’ as being – Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism.

Taken from the Dudley Agreed Syllabus, 2013


The Dudley Agreed Syllabus can be downloaded from Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council Website as below: